John Langs, Artistic Director

John Langs is ACT’s Artistic Director after serving as Associate Artistic Director for three years. Langs’ 16–year freelance career has afforded him the opportunity to work with many prestigious theatre companies across the country. He has directed productions at Playwrights Horizons NY, Ensemble Studio Theater NY, Milwaukee Repertory Theatre, Lookingglass Theater Company in Chicago, Circle X in Los Angeles, The Resident Ensemble, New Century Theatre Company, Washington Ensemble Theatre, and Seattle Shakespeare Company. Langs received his directing degree fromthe University of North Carolina School of the Arts. Some of his favorite directing credits include The Shaggs Philosophy of the World (Los Angeles Drama Critic Circle Award for Best Original Musical), and Brothers Karamazov (seven LADCC Awards including Best Production of the year and Best Direction) and directing Kurt Beattie in King Lear. Langs received the first annual Seattle Gregory Award honoring excellence in direction for The Adding Machine. Recent Seattle credits include NCTC’s Mary’s Wedding, The Seagull Project’s The Three Sisters, and Seattle Shakespeare’s Othello. As a dedicated fan of original work, Langs has shepherded over a dozen projects to their premier production.

Carlo Scandiuzzi, Executive Director

Carlo Scandiuzzi joined ACT in 2007 to oversee its new works and Central Heating Lab initiative, and took over as Executive Director in 2008. He is a founder of Agate Films and Clear Pictures, producing such films as Prototype, Dark Drive, Outpatient and The Flats and Indieflix, a distribution company. In 1979, Scandiuzzi started Modern Productions, bringing to Seattle such legendary bands as The Police, Devo, Nina Hagen, Iggy Pop, The Ramones, John Cale, Robert Frip, James Brown, Muddy Waters and many more. He performed in several plays at The Empty Space Theatre including Aunt Dan and Lemon, The Return of Pinocchio and Dracula. In the early '80s, he collaborated with many Seattle performance artists such as Norman Durkey, Alan Lande and Jesse Bernstein. He also acted in various films including Bugsy, The Public Eye, Another You, Casanova's Kiss, and Killing Zoe. He graduated from the Ecole Superieure D'Art Dramatique of Geneva.

Becky Witmer, Managing Director

Becky Witmer is Managing Director of ACT. She has been with ACT since 2011, serving as the General Manager (2014-2015) and also the Director of Marketing and Communications (2011-2014). Becky began her career in arts management through marketing and communications. She was the Director of Marketing and Public Relations at Intiman Theatre (2008-2011) and Opera Colorado (2006-2008). She was the Associate Director of Marketing with Central City Opera (2002-2005). Becky is an advisory board member for TeenTix, a co-founder of the Cultural Resource Collective, an Arts Business Consultant with Shunpike, and she frequently appears as a guest lecturer for Seattle University’s Arts Leadership MFA program. Becky is on the Leadership Tomorrow Curriculum Committee.

Kurt Beattie, Artistic Director Emeritus

Kurt Beattie joined ACT in 2001 as Associate Artistic Director and was appointed Artistic Director in April of 2003. Beattie's past productions at ACT include Bloomsday, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Grey Gardens, Ramayana, Double IndemnityIn the Next Room: or the vibrator play, The Lieutenant of Inishmore, Rock 'n' Roll, Becky's New Car, Intimate Exchanges, First Class, The Pillowman, Mitzi's Abortion, The Underpants, Vincent in Brixton, Bach at Leipzig, Black Coffee, Alki, Fuddy Meers, Fully Committed, Via Dolorosa and A Christmas Carol. Elsewhere he has directed Things Being What They Are and Art at Seattle Repertory Theatre, as well as productions at The Empty Space, Intiman Theatre, the Hugo House, and the University of Washington. As an actor, he has appeared in leading and major roles at ACT, Seattle Repertory Theatre, Intiman Theatre, and The Empty Space. Beattie was the co-recipient of the 2004 Theatre Puget Sound Gregory A. Falls Sustained Achievement Award and the 2012 ArtsFund Award for Outstanding Achievement.

Board of Trustees

Chuck Sitkin

Ross Henry
Vice President

Gary Houlahan

Bill Kuhn

Matt Aalfs
Joan Barokas
Eric Bennett
Leslie Ray Bernstein
Laurie Besteman
Trevor Cobb
Mike Crystal
Rayner D'Souza
Charles Fitzgerald
Julia Herschensohn
Stephanie Hilbert
Grady Hughes
Abha Khanna
Diane Lind
Kyoko Matsumoto Wright
Lauren Mikov
Naomi Minegishi
Jim Minorchio
John Muhic
Judy Ness
George Ojemann
Teresa Revelle
Karen Shaw
Goldie Gendler Silverman
Rob Stewart
Larry True
Ryan Waite
Shanna Waite

Advisory Council

Sheena Aebig
Daniel D. Ederer
Jean Burch Falls
Jeannie M. Falls
John H. Faris
Brad Fowler
Carolyn H. Grinstein
Sara Comings Hoppin
C. David Hughbanks
Jonathan D. Klein
Jane W. Lyons
Gloria A. Moses
Nadine H. Murray
Douglas E. Norberg
Kristin G. Olson
Donald B. Paterson
Eric Pettigrew
Pamela Powers
Katherine L. Raff
Brooks G. Ragen
Catherine Roach
Jo Anne Rosen
Faye Sarkowsky
David E. Skinner
Susan Trapnell
Brian Turner
George V. Willoughby
Jane H. Yerkes 

Emeritus Council

Richard C. Clotfelter
Esther Schoenfeld

Foundation Board

Kermit Anderson

Lucinda Richmond
Vice President

Katherine Raff

Brian Turner

Brad Fowler
Gary Houlahan
Catherine Roach
John Siegler
Charles Sitkin